Call for Entries

Thank you for your interest.
The 2014 GE Edison Awards competition is now closed.
Please visit again in early May for a complete list of winners.

The 2014 GE Edison Award competition is open to those lighting professionals who creatively employ significant use of GE lighting products, including, but not limited to, GE LED systems, LED luminaires, LED architectural products, LED lamps and modules, lighting controls and non-LED lamps and luminaires ("GE Lighting products") in a lighting design project completed during the 2013 and 2014 calendar year (from 01 January 2013 through 31 December 2014). Entries must be submitted online using our Web-based entry process. Also required: a Photography Release Form, complete with required signatures which must be received for the entry to be considered complete.

Congratulations to Robert Shook, Maureen Mahr, Jennifer Curtis and Kimberley Corbett-Oates of Schuler Shook (Chicago, Illinois, USA) for winning the 2013 GE Edison Award for lighting City Performance Hall in Dallas, Texas, USA. A personalized Steuben crystal was presented by GE Lighting on June 2, 2014 in Las Vegas, USA.

Judging Criteria

A panel of lighting professionals, including one representative from GE, will judge qualifying entries using a point scale based on the following criteria:

  • Functional excellence (15 points)
  • Architectural compatibility (15 points)
  • Effective use of state-of-the-art lighting products and techniques (15 points)
  • Appropriate color, form and texture revelation (15 points)
  • Energy effectiveness (15 points)
  • Cost effectiveness (15 points)
  • Additional features (10 points)
Projects scoring the highest number of points qualify to receive Awards of Excellence and Awards of Merit. The judges may also select Awards for Environmental Design and an Award for Residential Design based on the presence of entries that encompass the exemplary and outstanding design features that support each category. GE reserves the right to not make an award in one or more categories.

Awards for Environmental Design are given to those projects that demonstrate exemplary lighting design that is sensitive to impacts on the environment. These designs, while providing high-quality lighting, should minimize the use of energy, maximize the use of daylighting, control light pollution, and ensure system durability and maintainability.

An Award for Residential Design may be presented to the project that best exemplifies excellence in a residential application. Expected features of this design would include innovative application(s) of light and the creative integration of lighting layers and controls.

Entries remain anonymous throughout the judging process. The decision of the judges is final.

Winner Selection

The 2014 GE Edison Award Winner is selected from among the Awards of Excellence and remains confidential until announced at the Awards ceremony. The winner receives a personalized Steuben crystal trophy and continued publicity throughout the following year. A distinctive plaque is presented to the owner of the winning installation.

Awards Ceremony

All qualifying entrants will be invited to an awards ceremony, which will take place on the evening before the opening of 2015 LightFair International. At that time, designers who have been designated as winners of Awards of Excellence, Awards of Merit, Awards for Environmental Design and the Award for Residential Design (if any) will be recognized with personalized plaques acknowledging their lighting design achievements.

How to Enter

The following comprise the components necessary for submitting an entry.